Newb question on manufacturer brass

RSC12

FNG
Hello,

I'm just getting into reloading and am curious about sorting through brass. I'm trying to work up a load in 243win for my daughters and have been shooting Barnes bullets in 80gTTSX and 100g JHP. Both cases are Barnes brass and look identical so I'm assuming that it is acceptable to throw them all together for reloading.

I understand that you want to stay with the same manufacturer but does it matter if the brass comes from a different load or lot or just that its head stamped the same?

Thanks.

Last edited:

TaperPin

WKR
Different lots of brass from the same maker can vary, but the difference is quite minor and I have yet to see a measurable change so for average hunting rifle accuracy I mix them up. You could always load some of each and shoot them - the groups will ultimately tell the tail.

Leverwalker

Lil-Rokslider
I'm like Taper - for precision benchrest shooting, I know a lot of shooters who sort by lot, and very tight tolerances (on everything, not just brass), but for hunting purposes, I don't think it makes any difference at all. I reload 45-70, 30-30, 30-06, and .338 WM, used to load .44 mag. Never made a difference.

slowr1der

FNG
Different lots of brass from the same maker can vary, but the difference is quite minor and I have yet to see a measurable change so for average hunting rifle accuracy I mix them up. You could always load some of each and shoot them - the groups will ultimately tell the tail.
Same here. If I was shooting in a long range competition I might keep. It separate by lot number, but I wouldn't worry about it for any other scenario. I've yet to see a noticeable difference with brass from different lots.