Newbie in Western WA

dboone3

Lil-Rokslider
Hey guys.

I'm new to hunting out west and I'm wanting to go after a bear this fall. I'm in Western WA in the Issaquah area.

Any tips for a new black bear hunter? Or even better, someone that's willing to take a new hunter under their wings?

As far as the area close to Issaquah goes, can you hunt black bear with reasonable success in the tiger mountain area?

Thanks!

NRA4LIFE

WKR
One thing to keep in mind is the rifle use restrictions on your side of HY 18. No center fire rifles allowed for hunting. There are bears everywhere. Anywhere from the tiger mountain area to Snoqualmie pass and beyond holds a lot of bears. Do us all a favor and kill as many as you can. My neighbors and I are trying to figure out how to take one out that has been terrorizing our garbage cans (Maple Valley area). Neighbor has video of this monster on his security cams. I got him at 350 plus.

OP
D

dboone3

Lil-Rokslider
One thing to keep in mind is the rifle use restrictions on your side of HY 18. No center fire rifles allowed for hunting. There are bears everywhere. Anywhere from the tiger mountain area to Snoqualmie pass and beyond holds a lot of bears. Do us all a favor and kill as many as you can. My neighbors and I are trying to figure out how to take one out that has been terrorizing our garbage cans (Maple Valley area). Neighbor has video of this monster on his security cams. I got him at 350 plus.
Yeah, closer to me seems like archery would be the best option.

I've always wondered if the trash bears are worth harvesting or not. In terms of how the diet impacts the taste of the meat.

OP
D

dboone3

Lil-Rokslider
Never really thought of that. All the bears I've killed were either berry (WA) or donut eaters (WI).
Have you ever hunted Tiger? I'm worried all the hikers might impede hunting.

NRA4LIFE

WKR