Point weight vs insert weight… which is more beneficial?

Mtwood24

Lil-Rokslider
I am very new to the trad game and looking to set up some arrows for ultimately elk hunting. It’s looking like I’m going to want roughly 175-200 grains up front. My question is, what is more practical and why? Or does it even make a difference?

175gr point and 25gr insert
150gr point and 50gr insert
125gr point and 75gr insert
100gr point and 100gr insert

180ls1

WKR
Error on the side of a heavier broad-head because they are more prone to fail. That said, anything can be taken too far so don't go extreme.

Really it all comes down to tuning. Since you can't tune your bow you've got to do the arrow. Find a combo that will give you the best results for your bow and arrow set up and use that. There really isn't an easy button in trad. I bare shaft tune my arrows with field points and then even do it with broad heads. Then once I have a combo that works for both I fletch a couple up with a few different styles and length of feathers. Once I have a winning combo that's what I practice and hunt with. I will say each bow and shooter is a bit different you just have to work at it until you get results.

Doesn't really matter. If you're uncertain about where you want to land on total front end weight, I would recommend choosing a lighter head (100-125 gr) and medium weight insert (25-50 gr) then using internal weight screws behind the insert to make up the difference. This would allow you to easily experiment with different front end weights without needing to change heads or inserts. Also, I would recommend securing your inserts with heat reversible glue ("hot melt") so you can easily remove them if you find that you need to trim your arrow.

bz_711

WKR
I do 100 head / 50 inserts on my compound arrows primarily because I have a particular 100gr head I like and have been successful with.

Good Luck!

OP
Mtwood24

Mtwood24

Lil-Rokslider