Primer Pocket Cleaning

Coxen02

FNG
I am still new to reloading and at the moment I only reload ADG brass. I have been using a wire brush pocket cleaner. I have never used a uniforming tool because I read that the pockets are tapered and I would get more brass life by not removing that taper. My concern is that when I use the brush, it usually leaves behind some scratches on the brass inside the primer pockets. Should I be concerned about this or is it a non issue?

I'm mostly curious what others do for pocket cleaning if any? If what I am doing is okay or if I am ruining my brass and setting my loads up for failure? Do the more experienced reloaders out there believe that scratches in the primer pockets would result in more inconsistent loads? My thinking is that if anything, maybe i could effect SD/ES, but I'm not sure so that's why I'm asking. Thanks

Sounds a little minutia to me and I don’t think anyone could prove their theory one way or the other. I would call the brass manufacturer and ask them. And then also see what successful, competition winning shooters are doing. But with them, you will still often get varied opinions. Go with the manufacturers recommendation is my opinion.

BBob

WKR
Should I be concerned about this or is it a non issue?
Non issue. There’s a very very good short range BR shooter that doesn’t clean primer pockets at all. He wins a lot. I quit cleaning primer pockets and I didn’t see any change at all. People do lots of things they think they need to do. Most never test to see if it’s worthwhile, they just follow the masses and do what they are told.

OP
Coxen02

Coxen02

FNG
Sounds like I am being a little over paranoid about it. My gut feeling was that it wasn't causing any harm, but I guess it was just one of those things I couldn't shake! Thank you all for the insight, maybe I will just give up the pocket cleaning step all together

Vern400

WKR