Puffy/hard shell or insulated midlayer/softshell for Bow Hunting?

Ajstro

FNG
I am new to hunting, and I'm currently working on dialing in my clothing system. I have spent a lot of time searching the forums and reading articles but I am still unclear about the type of insulation/outer wear combo to use. I am currently thinking about either a light insulation layer paired with a softshell or a Puffy jacket paired with a hardshell. From all my research I can tell you that there are people that love and hate both of these systems.

I live in Virginia so a lot of my hunting will mostly be whitetail and some black bear. I also plan on heading home to Nebraska to join my buddies on their antelope hunt. As I gain experience I'd like to start heading out West. I know there is not a single system that is perfect for all situations and temperatures, but I am trying to find the jack-of-all-trades system that gives me the flexibility for 90% of what I can encounter.

Currently, I am looking at
Kuiu Super Down Ultra matched with Kuiu Guide DCS soft shell jacket

Other insulated layer I've thought of:
Sitka Celsius Midi Jacket, Krypek Cirius Down Jacket, Feathered Friends jacket

Pros
-Versatility. I can wear the soft shell in warmer weather, as it gets cold I can use the insulated puffy. I have snowboarded in really cold temps using this type of combo.
-More quiet then a puffy. More quiet than any hardshell I've found too.
-Durable soft shell material

Cons
-Heavier
-Soft shells aren't very compressible
-I already have a wool/fleece mid layer so do I really need a soft shell in those warmer situations?
-Not good for heavy rain (would bring light rain gear if the forecast warrants it)

The other option
Kifaru lost park parka matched with Krypek Poseidon 2 Rain jacket

Other Puffy options
First Lite Uncompahgre Puffy Insulated Jacket or Sitka Kelvin LT Hoodie

Pros
-Lighter weight
-Compressible
-warmer at colder temps

Cons,
-Durability? Seem more fragile than a softshell