Rage Practice Heads - Don't Spin Well

TX_Diver

WKR
I was considering using the Rage NCs this year but didn't want to practice with them so I picked up a set of the hypodermic practice heads.

I put all my arrows together and the NCs spin great. When I put the practice heads on they all have a major wobble to them though...

I shot the practice heads for the first time yesterday and they also don't group well. I can get an idea of my elevation based on the center of the group but now it has me 2nd guessing how the actual heads will fly. If I get similar groups with the actual heads I'm just gonna stick with my Magnus heads. I have no experience with mechanical heads. If I shoot them into my rhinoblock and they still spin well would you have any concern hunting with them?

To back-check myself I put my magnus stingers back on was getting a great group at 50 yards.

Anyone else have similar issues with the practice heads? Should I put much weight behind how the practice heads group or not really worry about it?

Btaylor

WKR
I would shoot one of the NC's. I would put exactly zero weight on how the wobbling practice heads grouped. Only thing shooting a wobbling head does is confirm that they wont fly right.

mtbshark

WKR
less than helpful post!!

In regards to the op’s question, I would not care about groupings of practice heads. Your fist shot is what you should be gauging Accuracy on. If it goes where your pins is taking into account your normal shooting, then you are all good. To Me that is what the main point of practice broadheads are. I can not remember the last time I critiqued my arrow grouping on an elk in the field.

Well there is my$.02

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Brendan

WKR
Here's my routine.

Bought a bunch of used Slick Trick, Muzzy, some Solids, and have Iron will I'll do all my tuning with. If a fixed blade will fly well, so should the mech.