SD public land

SDChungus

FNG
So South Dakota added an additional $10 habitat stamp that we must purchase. I ask my fellow South Dakota hunters what your thoughts are on public land management across our state? I have come across many WPA areas that are totally grazed off...thistles and weeds left behind and the good vegetation consumed (cattle). I have come across crep and walk in areas that are completely bare bean fields. Some of the ground is open to public hunting with "rules" meaning you cant hunt in unharvested crops. Why are we paying farmers/ranchers additional funds for totally bare bean fields? Thoughts? I think our state is doing a very poor job managing ground. No good reason some of these grounds can't be alfalfa pastures for birds and wildlife to thrive.

Jxferg7

Lil-Rokslider
Not sure what part of the statue your in but as a resident I know that many parts of the state just didn’t get shut for rain. Know many farmers who had entire swaths of sunflowers, corn, wheat, you name it and it went to shut. Not all parts of the state but a good majority.
Another thought I have is ranchjng/grazing is a huge part of South Dakota and if it wasn’t for grazing leases we would have even less public land because those lands would end up getting sold and hunters locked out all together. Certainly have some battles that need to be had in our state but compare our state to some of the other western states…..I’m happy to live in God’s Country!

OP
S

SDChungus

FNG
No doubt on a dry year. Some of the ground I reference has been this way for several years. I don't disagree we live in a great state with good opportunity. I think somehow the grounds could be managed much more efficiently. At least on the east river side. I do hunt across the entire state frequently.

Fatcamp

WKR
Just need to move around until you find what you are looking for.