Swarovski 17-40 ATC

Hunt4lyfe

FNG
After reading and watching most reviews on the ATC i decided to purchase one but i dont know how i feel about it. It's not as sharp as my SLC 15-50s and they seem to have a "foggy" image. To be honest they cant compare to the SLCs. Its not so apparent at 17x but its definitely there. At 40x there's no denying it and there seems to be a bright foggy spot in the center. Its almost like the area is smokey. I've tried looking through them in the morning, noon, evening, basically at all times and i get the same foggy/smokey image. I did comparisons at the same time.
To those of you that have one do you guys get the same foggy/smokey image or is almost identical to your binos? I'm new to spotters so am i expecting too much or should i send them in to get checked out? I called Swarovski and the guy on the line just said send them in to be inspected and it'll be a 8-10 weeks.

Attachments

• 20231020_091209-01.jpeg
    20231020_091209-01.jpeg
    402 KB · Views: 103
When looking at several ATCs STCs I thought it was one of the better spotters I’ve ever looked through. But just like any variable zoom optic, the higher the zoom the more degraded the image becomes.

I too also had the SLC 15s and while they were great, I’d much prefer the slightly more degraded image but 2.5x zoom when judging animals

From the ones I’ve looked through 40x was certainly useable but not crystal clear like15 SLC binos will get

Just my two cents

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JDB9818

WKR
I’m pretty impressed with mine and I don’t have any type of “foggy” image. I also have a pair of SLC 15x56 binos. They are a nice combination.

Probably worth sending them in to be checked.

How do you like that Kestrel mount for the ATC?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

OP
H

Hunt4lyfe

FNG
I’m pretty impressed with mine and I don’t have any type of “foggy” image. I also have a pair of SLC 15x56 binos. They are a nice combination.