Swarovski NL Pure 10X vs 12X to complement a spotting scope?

GKabs

FNG
Hey guys. Could really use some guidance and advice here.

I would be going on my first ever guided hunt in Arizona (that's where I live) and I currently own the Vortex HD 85mm spotting scope that I use for target shooting at the range. I recently also just bought the Razor HD 4000 GB rangefinder which I'm still learning to use.

I now need to choose my first pair of binoculars. I've decided that the investment in an excellent pair of Swaros is worthwhile for me *gulp* .. I know it's a heavy investment for a first binocular ever but I'm of the opinion of buy once cry once especially if I'm committed to the sport and love the outdoors in general. So I know I would ultimately use it a lot.

I'm leaning towards the 10x given the likely better low light clarity and wider FOV in the wide western country. Is that the right decision given that I might also bring my spotting scope along? or would you guys opt for the 12x NLs and leave the spotting scope at home?

My main hesitation with the 12x is that it's only 42mm and also might be a bit uncomfortable to view it handheld only. Would rather wait a few more years and ultimately buy a dedicated 15x with a big lense

Many thanks!

Fogalo

Lil-Rokslider
Oh man. That’s a wild take.

It sounds like you’ve done research enough to know what’s what, but this doesn’t sound like a buy once cry once. It’s a personal preference but you don’t have any experience. If you’ve got the resources buy both and try them side by side, then sell one.

I had the same conundrum with the swaro atx 65 vs 85. I bought both and swapped them back and forth.

BBob

WKR
What are you hunting? What will be your main focus in AZ to hunt? What all do you plan on hunting in AZ? Might be easier to answer the question if we knew these things.