Switching from handheld to index release

KyleM4130

Lil-Rokslider
Anyone out there switched from a hinge or thumb button back to an index style release for hunting? I’ve been contemplating going to one just for how much faster it is. I’ve been shooting a hinge for the last two years and really like it but it’s definitely a little more time consuming getting it out of my pocket or bino harness than something that I can wear on my wrist.

Jermh

Lil-Rokslider
I don't use a hinge but I do shoot a hand held. I used paracord to make a 'wrist strap' for it. It's still not quite as handy and I do take it off on occasion but I like it much better than having nothing. I don't think I could go back to an index.

imw001

FNG
I think my handhelds are sweet, but I’m probably switching back to a wrist-strap-index-finger release for now. I’m having a hard time getting comfortable with the handheld when I drill myself on the range, trying to be fast, quiet, and accurate.

I’m very green, though, so don’t take my advice too seriously.

OP
KyleM4130

KyleM4130

Lil-Rokslider
I don't use a hinge but I do shoot a hand held. I used paracord to make a 'wrist strap' for it. It's still not quite as handy and I do take it off on occasion but I like it much better than having nothing. I don't think I could go back to an index.
I have the hunting bracket added to my ultraview hinge. It definitely helps. I love
shooting with the hinge and have great accuracy. I also shoot a B3 Omega thumb and can leave it on the d loop but worry about losing it sometimes.

I hunted with an index release years ago, then went to a trad bow, and have picked up the compound again very recently. All of my hunting since December has been with a handheld release, and only one kill has been with a thumb button. The rest were all with a hinge.