Used crew cab trucks: $12,000 cash, what to look for?

First off, I'm not looking for something with all the bells and whistles. I've been driving a 1994 Yota PU for 8 years and it's time to get a crew cab truck for the family. Family of four with dogs gets way too challenging trying to fit everything in for camp trips and road trips. We have a van for my wife and use that for road trips to the big cities and other visits.

This truck will serve as my daily commuter (25 miles round trip everyday), hunting rig, wood hauler, tow a drift boat, maybe tow a camper one of these days, etc. I don't baby my trucks, I use them on rough roads to get to my hunting and wood cutting spots so makes little sense to spend 30-40K on a new one. Plus, I have $12,000 cash so avoiding payments is the main goal.

So full size truck, crew cab, 4x4, and mild towing needs. Decent fuel mileage a plus, but let's face it, 18 mpg hwy is about what I expect. I also love a canopy, so with or without one I'll be getting one regardless.

Here's some trucks I've seen for sale lately:

-2004 F350 Crew cab diesel, canopy, 108K miles. Guys is asking 12K. I've read that 2004 6.0L diesels have some issues.

-2005 F150 crew. Has 80K miles, dealer is asking 13K. Clean truck, short bed. I know the 2004-2008 Fords have issues with spark plugs, injectors, and a few other potential known issues.

-Various F150's, GMC's, Nissan Titans, Dodge's with around 100K miles also for sale in my price range in the 2007-2010 vintage.

So school me on trucks. I'm not well versed in trucks. Not much of a mechanic either, so not looking for a project. Just a reliable truck that I wont feel bad heading to the woods with and using as a daily driver.

What would you look for in my price range? I use Chevy's for work trucks and honestly haven't been overly impressed by them. I tend to prefer a Ford over a Dodge, simply because the 1/2 ton Dodges seem to have small crew cab seating space.