When?

Over the years I have been prone to buying 10-12 year old horses and spend time working out the bugs.

Because of the shortfall of older horses, I find myself with a two year old filly. When do folks like to break them to ride. This one is mostly morgan with some paso fino. Good disposition and personality.

Preston

Lil-Rokslider
I started training min to ride in January and they just turned 3 in April/May. I did a lot of densetilizing in the years prior from when I weaned them to raising them

Fordguy

WKR
Depends on exactly what you mean by breaking them to ride,. It also depends on how much riding time you'll put on the horse while it's still growing and what kind of riding you do. When I used to compete in endurance rides, the horse had to be at least 5 before they would let you enter limited distance rides.
I usually started breaking horses to ride as two year olds, and I would sometimes start limited light work under saddle (lunge line work or ground driving with basic commands) earlier than that.
As 2 year olds, all of the work under saddle was short duration, and not at all strenuous.

Having been spent somewhere around 30 years training horses (for myself and others) and competing in various disciplines, I'll tell you that three of my best horses weren't broke/trained until they were between 6 and 10 years old. I bought them cheap because they were older and had only been used to pasture breed mares or were too much of a handful for their current owners to work with.

My 23 year old stallion, (a thoroughbred paint cross with a lot of foundation qh on the paint side) I broke to ride at 4. He's been ridden thousands of miles in endurance conditioning and competition, competitive mounted orienteering, mounted archery competition and demonstration and more. He's also packed out and (occasionally dragged) several animals for me. He hasn't been lame a day in his life, and he's seen a lot of hard use.