Which 18650 batteries and charger do you trust?

I'm new to the rechargeable headlamp game. I've been reading that some 18650 batteries and/or chargers can be a safety hazard due to overcharging or unstable parts or something along those lines. I'm getting a zebralight headlamp that takes a single 18650. Which battery and which charger do you guys use that have worked for you and that you know are safe? Not trying to spend a bunch on the charger, so whatever is safe and reasonably priced is perfect for me.

eddielasvegas

WKR & Chairman of the Rokslide Welcoming Committee
Classified Approved
Good topic. I suspect, and have had less than good experiences, with the cheap ones from AMZN and EBAY.

I have had no problems with the batteries or chargers from Fenix, but they ain't cheap.

These items are a good example of you get what you pay for.

Eddie

TheCougar

WKR
I use the Zebralight batteries, although there are several reputable manufacturers out there. I use this charger:

it is light, portable, and you can recharge your batteries or use your spare batteries as a power bank

Marbles

WKR
Classified Approved
Orbtronic protected cells. LiitoKala Lii-500 charger.

Zebralight batteries are great. They are protected and hold charge very well, even in the cold. I got an 18650 size plastic battery carrier for a couple dollars from amazon and lined it with some bubble wrap to carry around extras in my pack so they aren’t banging around or punctured if I fall etc.

The Miboxer c4 smart charger has been great for me. I think it was $40. Just make sure whatever you get has some safety features.

I picked up a few on Amazon that are of suspect quality.

Have good luck with the zebra and nite core versions.