Wanting a new rifle. Kimber or build my own?

Hey guys I've got the itch for a new rifle, I've decided on a 6.5 creedmoor. I mostly backpack hunt so I want to keep the weight down as much as possible. I'm looking for you guys opinion on whether I should just pick up a Kimber and be done or if you think I would be able to pick up a donor action from either a tikka or remington 700 and rebarrel, drop it in a new stock and have a gun that could be close to the weight of the Kimber? The idea of getting a donor action and going that route kind of appeals to me just cause I have never done it before. So what do you guys say? Also any advice on components to use if building my own would be greatly appreciated.

Fire_9

WKR
It kind of depends on your budget but if you're willing to spend the extra cash I would find a donor action and build one. Throw a quality stock (mcmillan, manner, hs precision) and barrel (krieger, bartlein, lija, benchmark, brux) on it and it will shoot one ragged hole.

16Bore

WKR
Kimber Montana is a turn key deal and you'll be dollars ahead in the end.

And when/if you get tired of it you won't lose your ass either.

For the money
You can buy two kimbers a Montana and a mountain ascent for the price of one custom build

Just my 2 cents

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Stid2677

WKR
I have done both,, still own 2 Kimber Mountain Ascents and an Adirondack. All 3 are worth close to what I paid. I had a custom Remington 700 built on one of their titanium actions, had over 3K into that one and was finally able to sell it for for about half of what I had in it. Customs are great, but most only appeal to the person they were built for. Just my 2 cents worth.

Steve

robtattoo

WKR
Also, in the savage's favor, you can switch calibers at home in 10 minutes with $40 of tools. Switching to .308 or 7-08 would be a cinch.