12 Gauge vs 20 Gauge for bird hunting

hobolance

FNG
Hi. I am new to hunting and looking for a shotgun. I'm looking for a solid reliable multipurpose shotgun, and I've been thinking about the Mossberg 500 Field/Deer Combo. Any thoughts on what the best gauge is? I am wondering what the pros and cons of 12 vs 20 gauge are. I live in Alaska so I'd like one that's also capable of stopping a bear.

Irish Miner

Lil-Rokslider
Agree, I usually opt for the 20. Lighter packing mainly.

For bear country a 12 for sure and a large caliber side arm in addition to some pepper spray.

mlob1one

WKR
For pheasants and waterfowl, I love a 12.
Any other upland birds, I love carrying a lighter smooth 20.

Sent from my SM-S918U using Tapatalk

Reactions: DAD

Cornhusker

Lil-Rokslider
Any good bird hunter including me will tell you that you need both. I used to run a 12, 20, 16 and a 28. I shoot doves one night with my 12 and the next night with my 20 or 28. I guess I like the diversity and changing things up. This fall I carried both my 12 and 20 for grouse. Next week on the opener of South Dakota pheasants I'll hunt the first couple of days with my 12 and then probably switch later in the week to my 20. When I go back to South Dakota for a 2nd hunt in November the birds will be wilder and I'll stick to just my 12.

If I was you I'd start by finding out what you like to shoot an overunder is my preference because i enjoy shooting them and shoot them fairly well. I even take my overunder in the duck blind and goose pit which most guys I hunt with think is crazy. I just don't shoot pumps or automatics anymore but I used to when I first started. I just enjoy the feel of a well balanced gun and for whatever reason I usually find that in stacked barrels.