Canon EOS Rebel t6.. worth keeping?

HDwild

WKR
I'm new to photography and right now I have a Canon Rebel t6. Just bought a shotgun mic for it and come to find out, this camera doesn't have the right jack for the mic.

I've been thinking about getting a better camera anyway but I want opinions on whether the rebel is worth keeping or if I should just get a new camera that is a little higher quality with better video shooting capabilities?

The T6 is an excellent starter camera. It has limitations as you found out. Great camera for better pictures then a point and shoot and worlds better then a phone. The next step gets you a ton of features you don't have now. Are you invested in any lenses besides the 18-55 and perhaps the 2 lens kit 75-300? If not then The best value and an awesome camera would be the Olympus E-M10 Mark 3. It has everything the Canon has Plus
Built in 5 axis Image stabilization
4 K video
Microphone Jack
Smaller, Better in low light
Mirrorless so much faster focusing for pictures and better tracking for video

Happy to discuss with you

Call me at 516-217-1000. I am at the store M-F from 8-6, Saturday 10-5:30

Joel

Wapiti1

WKR
Quick question. Do you have any other lenses for the Canon? If so, keep in mind that you would need to replace them by going to a different brand.

Jeremy

OP
HDwild

HDwild

WKR
Thats part of it too, I haven't bought any extra lenses or anything so before I started dumping more money into this, I wanted to see if I should just invest in a better all-around camera and then lenses.

Most photographers on the hunting forums want and need a weatherproof camera. To stay with Canon that would mean a full frame, very expensive as you would need L series lenses to have everything weatherproof, and your crop sensor camera. That means that a 24-105 lens on the better camera acts as the 24-105, on your camera it acts like a 36-157, so much less wide angle.