CO point holders: how have you changed your draw strategy?

el_jefe_pescado

Lil-Rokslider
Well it’s the time of year where I try to talk myself into cashing in on my preference points (NR, 7pp) earlier than planned. Hunt quality in Colorado has been on the decline for a while but this year it feels different for many obvious reasons. Increased human pressure, the continued fetishizing of predators, and a “free for all” approach to tag allocation are all contributing factors. I am typically not one to overreact, it feels like this year might be a good time to pull stakes.

So here are my questions for all fellow CO point holders in purgatory:

Option 1. Are you cashing in your points earlier than expected?

Option 2. Are you going to hold on to your points with the hope that CPW gets the season restructuring “right” in 2025 and the system improves?

3. Or…are you proceeding as normal and chasing a your desired unit/hunt without a care in the world?

I’m an MT resident so not hunting CO in the near term doesn’t mean that I won’t have elk meat in the freezer. Rather, I feel that we are reaching (or already past) the point of diminishing returns on what is already an overvalued hunt in most of the units around the state.

Looking forward to hearing some feedback.

Ddubs20

FNG
I don't see it improving for non residents. Most residents are fed up with the unlimited OTC archery and rifle seasons. So maybe your points become more or less valuable, only time will tell. I'm sure you montana natives are sick of all the colorado natives moving there to escape the BS here!

I am taking it as it comes, for me. My strategy revolves around my work schedule. If I think there is a chance I can draw when I am home and able to hunt, I will put in for it. If not, I will just grab a point and see what the next season holds for me.

HOT ROD

WKR