Elk have habits

When you get tired of stories - let me know and I will go find something else to do.

I got out of camp early one morning and started a long sweep in my search for elk. About a mile out of camp I picked up a trail of a herd of 20-30 going north. Being on horseback, I followed them across two drainages about 4 miles to a big empty park. They fed through it in every direction. I started riding circles with increasing radius. At about 45 minutes I found where they came together and lined out toward the ridge I started on.

They took me back south and into the basin south of my camp. They lined out on a small ridge and started up through the cliffs.

I tied up my horse and followed them on foot. As we worked along, small herds would come from nowhere and join up. As we neared the top of the ridge, a couple sheared off and worked around the south side of the cliff the rest went into a hole on the north side. The pair took me around the main cliff into a saddle. As my pair went south, I dropped over the north side to see if I could cut the tracks of the main herd.

I went into a bit of a draw and as I cleared the top of a little ridge, I noted that every tree had a yellow porcupine scar on the butt. I remember I blinked and then realized that every scar was a bedded elk. In the center was a spike with a really stupid look on his face and below him was a huge cow. I had a cow tag so things were looking up. As she sagged at the shot the rest stood and filed single file in front of me at about 20 ft except the spike who ran into a gap in the rocks.

I cut the cow's throat and went to look in the gap. As I got through it I found him and 20 head of very confused calves in a rock culdesac with no way out. I had to crawl up a level to let all the children out to follow their mothers.