Help Planning a 2024 Elk Hunt

Theeck

FNG
Hi everyone. I am on the East Coast and I would like to plan an elk hunting trip. I would prefer rifle or muzzleloader. I am thinking about Montana or Wyoming but don’t really know where to start so I would appreciate any help.

I don’t have any preference points. I would like an area where there is a realistic chance at a legal bull but I’m not at all concerned about getting a “trophy.” I would prefer to hunt on my own rather than with a guide. I have all the gear I would need but the idea of a drop camp seems appealing if I could get other guys to come along. If not, I would be doing it alone. I am new to elk hunting but I am comfortable in the woods and pretty self-reliant.

I would like to start researching areas but the rules on tags are confusing. I am not against using an outfitter but don’t want a “canned” hunt nor to spend a fortune. I appreciate any advice. Thanks

Matt Cashell

Administrator
Staff member
Drawing a NR tag for a bull in MT or WY would take some luck, especially with zero points.

Since you are looking at a guided/drop camp hunt I would recommend checking out Colorado.

A little googling of drop camp reviews, followed by calling and talking to references should get you down the right path.

Unit specific conversations are discouraged on the open forum.

Good luck!

OP
T

Theeck

FNG
Thanks guys. I did a DIY trip to Colorado a few years ago. It was fun but I didn’t have any luck. I also had a hard time finding a place to camp initially. I had 3 preference points in CO but I let them lapse.

I understand that specifics on units is not okay on this board. Speaking very generally, are the units that are easier to draw than others? I could buy MT or WY points now but how many do you need to have a good ahot at drawing a tag? (If it’s a lot, I’ll just make other plans). Thanks

Caseknife

Lil-Rokslider