How user friendly are Garmin track/training collars?

MtnDunn

FNG
Hey guys. I've been running a DT e-collar on my GSP for the past 6 years will relatively few issues. However, I have now added a puppy to the mix and am looking to making the upgrade to a Garmin multi-dog track/train system. I'm familiar with the GPS functionality, as this is Garmin's bread and butter. What I am more interested in is how user friendly are the stimulation features in the different handheld devices (Alpha 10, Alpha 100, Alpha 200, & Alpha 300). Are you able to easily go back and forth using stimulation of 2 dogs in the field at once; or, is it a multi-step process where you have to change a bunch of settings on a touch screen each time? For you upland hunters out there with experience using these systems, I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

You can customize the functionality to your preference. The Alpha 100 for example, gives you 3 buttons. You can choose what each does.

Button 1 = Dog 1 tone
Button 2 = Dog 1 stimulate
Button 3 = Dog 2 tone

I often ran 2 dogs on the ground at once, per my moniker. I can't imagine trying to go back to pre-GPS days. Those were stressful times.

Austink47

WKR
I am new to the GPS collar game. Set up was pretty easy with the help of a few YouTube videos. Only issues I have had have been with connectivity. My controller has randomly lost connection to the collar a few times.

Hoghead

WKR
I run up to 5 dogs. I have the 200i, and the side buttons let you toggle between dogs fast. Believe me, if I can use it, anyone can.

Sent from my SM-G781V using Tapatalk

OP
MtnDunn

MtnDunn

FNG
Good to know. Thanks. What about the Alpha 10? Anyone have experience with that unit running multiple dogs?

kickemall

WKR