Idahoans do not like out-of-state hunters

Kleos

Lil-Rokslider
I had quite the experience the last couple of days. To preface this I was an Idaho resident for several years. I hunted the same area for elk for two years, this being my third but with a catch. I had to move out of state for a job opportunity.

Let me tell you, people treat you completely differently if you have plates on your vehicle other than Idaho near hunting grounds. I did a lot of leg work learning this area prior to my first two years and when I elk hunted there I rarely saw other people. But when I did you could have a pleasant conversation with each other and I met a lot of really cool people.

I had to move out of state because I was presented with a job opportunity and it was very hard leaving Idaho as I greatly appreciated the area I was living. But I did not want to give up on hunting with my best friend and the godfather of my child. I knew that being an out-of-state hunter would pose its challenges but I am very respectful when it comes to hunting.

If I see a vehicle down a road that I want to hunt, I will try and stay clear of that area, even if I know there are MANY other points that I could hunt from out of respect. If I have to drive by a parked vehicle that someone may be hunting near I drive slowly so I don't spook anything if there on an elk. These are just a few of my many rules because I want everyone to enjoy there time out there.

I went on a short elk hunting trip that I and my buddy had been planning since the last trip. When driving if I see people I stop and say hi or just wave if they look busy. I had a couple of incidents where I pulled to the side to let the oncoming car go past me on a trail and several stopped and just stared at me. I would say hi and ask how there doing and most of them wouldn't even give me the time of day and if they did they would make a bizarre comment on out of state hunters which I would just laugh and leave.