Magnification range for elk

RC51kid

FNG
I am new to elk hunting. Took my first elk this winter and I am toying with the idea of more magnification. Currently using a 2-10 which has been on a few hunting rifles. It is a very versatile range. Worked great in the southeast for deer and hog hunting. But now I am out west and it sits on a Tikka in 6.5 Creedmoor. Originally i figured my max distance would be 300 yards. But my first elk was at 358 yards. I had time to set up a really good shooting rest and was suprised at how doable that range was. It has me thinking that with more practice this summer i might be comfortable out further. Especially with smaller game like coyote or pronghorn.

I was hitting steel regularly out to 600 with it. 1000 yrds was harder but mostly becouse of wind. Magnification would have been nice but this is primarily a hunting rifle and I dont want to turn it into a range gun.

I have been thinking 3-15 might be a better fit. But I am still new to this so I am looking for advice from you guys. For big game out to 500 or maybe 600 what magnification would you guys use? I would like to be comfortable out to 600. That does not mean I will be planning on taking 600 yrd shots. Any issue using a 2-10 or would you guys with experience out west be looking for more magnification?

Firehawk

WKR
Killed elk at almost 600 yards with a 3.5-10x40 scope. I prefer a light scope and more handy rifle. Some scope are so big and bulky to me. Friends have 4-14 or similar scopes and have found that they rarely need the full power.

Killed my cow a week or so ago at 3.5x on my Leupold at 278 yards. Didn't once think, "I should increase the magnification to make this shot". Went fast and bullet was perfectly placed. Don't overthink it. Put a scope you are comfortable with on your rifle.

180ls1

WKR
Leave it. You're comfortable with it and it works well. You wont need any more.

kcm2

WKR