Newberg says a $40 elk tag (or whatever it cost) is a $25,000 elk tag for residents.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mojave

WKR

He's right. We all take a huge pay cut, and have mountain ski town expenses in places that are not. Quit complaining about the cost of your elk tags, we are paying $20-40,000 more a year to live here than you are in Wisconsin, Oklahoma, Texas, Florida or damn near anywhere outside of big cities.

It's a valid point. A buddy I graduated with (same degree, essentially identical careers) paid 185k for a decent house on about an acre in Iowa. Awesome whitetail hunting literally from his back deck.
I'd pay about 500k or more for the same here in Colorado, and our salaries are within 5k of each other.
That's not the reason for the price difference, but the lifestyle here is expensive.
We could give the NRs cheap tags but keep them in the limited quota. Draw odds will change their minds about cost in a hurry.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

satchamo

WKR

He's right. We all take a huge pay cut, and have mountain ski town expenses in places that are not. Quit complaining about the cost of your elk tags, we are paying $20-40,000 more a year to live here than you are in Wisconsin, Oklahoma, Texas, Florida or damn near anywhere outside of big cities.

Well, move? Isn’t that what you’d tell us non res guys

TVW

Lil-Rokslider
I hope you’re trolling me.
I’m supposed to feel bad for you because you’re living on vacation?
Move to a place where your services are needed like everybody else.

Ok, but put the shoe on the other foot....

Are we supposed to feel bad for non residents because they don't want to deal with living somewhere that the hunting is actually good?

Broomd

WKR
Moved here 18 years ago this year, 21 miles of gravel--still unpaved--still don't have cell service.
Still drive 60 minutes round trip for a gallon of milk or gallon of gas.