Oregon Spring Bear - Archery Spot and Stalk

TStramp

FNG
I am planning on hunting the spring bear in SW Oregon this year. I do not see a lot of information on spot and stalk archery hunting for bears across the internet. This is my first year hunting spring bear, I am committed to hunting with a bow. I curious to why it is not a common weapon for spring bear hunting?

What are some of the challenges of spring bear hunting with a bow?
Any recommendations on arrow setup? I plan on hunting the same arrow as elk (475 grain double bevel broadhead w/ bleeders).
Are bears sensitive to noise as you stalk in on them? I know they have poor eyesight and an incredible sense of smell.
Have people had success using calls? If so, early season vs late?

- TStramp

Pitot169

FNG
I haven’t hunted them with a bow, been able to sneak in on some spring bears within bow range, but few and far between. It can definitely be done.
Just put the miles on and find them!
Have you hunted that region before?

Good luck! And let us know how it goes.

With the caveat that I’m not a bow hunter, I think it can be done. I would spot and stalk just like rifle hunting.

Bears trust their nose to tell them what’s going on around them, so if you get the wind right and have a bear that’s relatively stationary, stalking in close on a bear is probably easier than getting in on a mule deer buck or something.

Spring wind in the mountains can be a capricious little b;tch, though.

Last edited:
OP
TStramp

TStramp

FNG
I helped a buddy out on a black tail hunt in the Applegate unit this past fall. I have spent more time chasing steelhead on rivers in the unit. I have fished the Illinois, Chetco, Elk, Sixes, and Umpqua. I am leaning towards hunting near those rivers because I am familiar with the access.