Questions on Gear?

griffinit

Lil-Rokslider
Well this isn't my first year hunting alone but it's my first year that I don't have a friend with me for some of the hunt so we aren't able to split gear so I need to upgrade and get some things.

First water purification, does one style do better than another what's your preference?

What sleeping bag do you use I'm looking for a small lightweight one but I don't really want spend more than $200. I'll be using it in June-Late September mainly.

What do you use to charge your phone? This is my first year having one, I used to be able to go 4 days without charging my phone but with an Iphone I get 2 if I'm lucky.

Thanks for your help!

Water purification: Gravity feed type. I was running a MSR MiniWorks but I am sick of pumping. I am now using a Sawyer 3 way inline hooked to a 3L reservoir

Sleeping bag: I dont really have a recommendation at that price point.

External batter packs for the Iphone: New Trent and Anker

New Trent battery packs work great

Katadyn hiker pro filter, Aquamira drops or MSR aquatabs.

Marmot makes pretty good bags at the lower price point.

I use a Platypus gravity filter and love it. I tried the water purification tablets and did not like them at all.

For a sleeping bag, I'm a big fan of GoLite. I got one of their 850 fill down bags that weighs less then 2 pounds. If you watch there sight for a while, they have a tab for clearance items. I bought the bag for $150 when they were selling in the store for $400.

Phone?! Lol, I don't go anywhere that has cell phone coverage.

Check out Go Lite for a light bag. Think I got mine on sale for just over your mentioned price. You can come close to $200 if you hit a sale. Love my New Trent, I had plenty of juice left after an eight night outing.

Brent

Ya the golite bags are pretty tight. Its what i use and i like it but anybody bigger then me would probably not like it.