Spray foam insulation

joxafa

FNG
Does anyone have it in their attic? I've been told it's great on the electric bill. Also been told it causes mold and moisture problems. One ac guy told me not to use it because the ac unit wouldn't run efficiently. Another told me he's never had a problem. I'm not sure which way to go. Thanks

grfox92

WKR
You don't spray foam attics. You loose fill blow in with Celluslose or even better and not crazy expensive is wool blown in.

Spray foam walls and loose fill in the attic. FWIW I build custom homes for a living.

Edit: I'm not saying you can't spray foam your attic, it's just not something I've ever seen done. The cost wouldn't justify it. You don't live in your attic and unless your really dead set on using the entire thing for storage, blown in loose fill would be way less than half the coast of foam

Sent from my SM-G990U using Tapatalk

New construction or existing? Blow in is so cheap you can just addd more to what you already have and gain efficiency. The mold problems come when you don’t have adequate ventilation. We do spray lids in applications where there’s no way to ventilate.

Sled

WKR
You got good advice here. Fwiw, I wouldn't put spray foam in the attic or anywhere moisture could be present.

Broomd

WKR
I have open-cell Icynene sprayed in my Idaho home and can practically heat this place with a candle.
No attic, we have a loft. As was said, blown-in for attic, 'expanding' for everything else.

Best build decision I ever made. My home-building neighbors built accordingly after seeing the ultra efficiency here.

SwiftShot

WKR