Starter back country setup .

isu22andy

WKR
Im going to preface this post by saying Im from Iowa so Im new at backcountry camping. Ive tent camped before a million times with buddys around here, but we are always out fishing or messing around and it rarely dips below 50 degrees. Iv been out west hunting muleys with a bow and Antelope with a rifle but always done so from hotels.

Im looking at finally getting away from hotels but getting a little hung up on the price of some of this stuff. Im cold blooded and tight money wise by nature. I cant stand being cold and it will take alot of the hunt out for me very quickly so if Im miserable. Love the looks of the tipi setups from Seekoutdoors. Ideally Id like the 4 man or the redcliff. Throw a stove in it your 1100 -1200 dollars easy. Now you need a cold weather bag and sleeping pad. 2-500 dollars can get wrapped up in that quick .

Is all that necessary to hunt and camp in 20-40 degree weather ? Ill probably never hunt bighorns in the mountains , but id like a setup that would be versatile and comfortable enough to hunt from September elk in Colorado to late nov muleys in Montana.

So Im thinking at the bare minimum I can get into this around 1600 bucks - at that price though can sure split a lot of 75 dollar hotel rooms with a buddy. Bottom line - Is it worth it to make the commitment even when I only come out west hunting once a year? Is there cheaper alternatives as far as tents and bags and staying warm ? Seems everywhere you turn on here theres guys with 5 k of setups to sleep in the backcountry.

Last edited:

Mike 338

WKR