Tipi, Tent, Makes & Models

My 20 year old backpack tent finally gave up the ghost and I need to get something else before a September backpack hunt. Have been drooling over tipis for 10 years or more...1) Any major reason I should NOT get a tipi (I have already read about the condensation issue) 2) Straight round tipi or one of the alternative floor shapes 3) Need it to be big enough for 3 people gear and stove 4) I know Seek Outside and Kifaru have stellar reputations, how about experiences with Luxe-Hiking 5) What size stove for September-October Western Hunting. Any help on any of these points would be much appreciated!

Jimbob

WKR
I have had a go-lite hex 2 for many years and it has been amazing. I love the no floor and the lightweight. I am in the same boat as you and need to add a larger option. I have looked at specs on the internet and here is what I found. I have no experience with any of these shelters, only research.

Options: Kifaru, Seekoutside, Liteoutdoors, locus gear

Kifaru - sawtooth not big enough, price gets crazy for larger shelters
Liteoutdoors - not big enough
Locus gear - no stove jack (could be added though), Soris is too big and expensive (very cool looking shelter though), Kahfra is too small

Seekoutside - Redcliff is perfect. Reasonably priced. Can fit three with stove and gear or up to 6 in a pinch with no stove.

So for me and my needs (3 people hunting, wife and 3 kids backpacking) I think the redcliff is the way to go.

Last edited:
I can only add the experience I have of course but my brother and I have a BearPaw Wilderness designs Luna 6. 10' x 10'. about 6' center height. We have slept 3 and the stove but not much room left for gear. 2 people, stove and gear is about perfect. Seems decent to me.