Turkeys not Gobbling

dylaneh

FNG
I am a turkey hunter from Alabama. Ive been hunting since I was 5 years old for about 16 years now. I think I have gained a lot of experience and skills for turkey hunting. I have killed many turkeys and had great success where I hunt, however I still have a hard time knowing what to do and where to hunt when turkeys aren’t gobbling on a given day. I have some luck with spot and stalking where I can but thats not really available for most of the places I hunt. I guess I am looking for advice or some tips on what to do when turkeys aren’t gobbling, where is the best place to set up, calling techniques all of that.

Justin_Tree

Lil-Rokslider
I understand your struggle. Turkey hunting isn’t fun when they aren’t gobbling

My opinion is to be patient and wait in an area they you know the birds are using or corridors they move through. I would likely do some light calling but try to refrain from over calling. Or I may just go home and come back another day and hope they are gobbling lol.

One thing I remember reading(and I don't remember where unfortunately) is that turkey can usually pinpoint where a sound/call came from pretty darn closely - and that 60%(I believe) of the time a male Turkey will visit the location where it heard a female at some point during his day.

Sitting all day is too boring for me though, so I will usually hit the road and find a gobble somewhere.

Gman12

Lil-Rokslider
There is nothing worse than spring turkey hunting as if you were deer hunting IMO. The sitting and waiting game is not for me. I would just go home and hook up the boat and go fishing.
I guess if I had to try to kill a turkey when they are not gobbling, I would set up in a field and put a decoy out and call lightly and not too often. Of course I would know that turkeys often came to this field so the chances would be good of at least seeing a bird.

Jethro

WKR