Which Enlightened Equipment quilt?

thisguy

FNG
Going on a September bow hunt in Colorado and wanting to shed some pack weight. I've been using a Nemo Disco 15 degree bag and find it plenty warm for that time of year. Not to mention it's heavy. Anyone here have experience with an EE quilt in this scenario? I'm not sure what temp rating would be appropriate and have no experience with quilts. Thanks!

look at UGQ , make a great quilt, op notch quality, I have a EE as well, and never use it anymore, I really like the UGQ , have 3 now
id stick with a 10* quilt personally, you can hang a leg out if its to warm, or open it up all the way
looks like they have fast track quilts on sale as well

Red33

FNG
I have a 20 degree EE. I got it extra wide and love it. I paired it with an Xtherm pad and a zenbivy fast sheet- there is another thread about this. Best sleep system I have found for the backcountry in my 55 years, apart from camper/ truck camping.

With quilts, the pad is just as important as the quilt. You also want it wide enough to keep drafts out. I'm 5'10 and 200lb. I use a wide and find it wide enough to not let in drafts as I turn over. Their degree rating closer to the limit rating than the comfort rating for me. If you are a hot sleeper, the # on the quilt is probably closer to comfort.

If you do a lot of tossing/turning, I would recommend looking at something like the ZenBivy system. It will do a much better job keeping out drafts.

For reference, I have a 20 degree EE Revelation (regular wide) with draft collars that comes in around 25oz. I pair it with a Nemo Fillo elite ultralight at 3oz and a BA Rapide SL at 24oz. I have had it down to about 30 comfortably. Below that, and I start to add clothes. I find their degree rating closer to the limit rating than the comfort rating. If you are a hot sleeper, the # on the bag is probably closer to comfort.

I would recommend a quilt rating 10 degrees below the lowest temp you will experience on your trip.

Tick