Bows Optimized for Short Draw Length

jaredlef

FNG
Hi all - I've gotten a lot of great information reading the forums over the past few months. I finally have a question:

While I've been blessed in many ways, my draw length is unfortunately not one of them. I started shooting archery about a year ago and I'm using a Mission Ballistic set at 70# draw weight and 26" draw length. I shoot an Easton Axis 400 with a 100 gr Slick Trick for a total arrow weight of 405 gr and 12% FOC. Haven't sent one through a chrono but that's a calculated velocity of 273 fps and decent kinetic energy (around 63 ft lbs).

I hunt whitetail and turkey and my current setup has worked fine for this; however, I'm planning an elk hunt in a few years and I don't think this arrow weight and speed is viable.

What bow manufacturers have bows that are optimized for short draw lengths? I've heard of Xpedition (the SD bows), are there any others out there?

Alternately, what are ways that guys with shorter draw lengths have overcome this challenge? Am I stuck shooting a lighter arrow, or do I shoot a heavier arrow and take a hit in velocity? Look into bows with 80# limbs and work up to that?

Thanks!

I can speak Directly to you brother. I am a 26.5 draw. Let me tell you, I have always shot Hoyt and Mathews. The last 4 year shooting the Hoyt Carbon Element. My buddy who just bought a proshop told me to shoot the expedition SD. The bow was design for 25" to 26.5" ONLY. It is 33.25 inches and 6 inch BH. This bow shoots light freak out. I was going to test it ONLY but I bought it. I will admit, I had to get used to the draw cycle. It draws like an elite and if you have ever shot an Elite and Hoyt side by side, they are VERY different.

My bows I would recommend you shoot. (all with 6" BH because of your draw - you will not know the difference)
1. eXpedition SD
2. Elite Impulse 31
3. Hoyt Defiant Turbo

In terms of arrows. You can have a lot of options.