1:11 twist with 190 gr Barnes LRX

Badland

FNG
So thinking I did all of my research I went out and ordered couple boxes of 190 gr LRX for my Tikka 300 Win mag... now I have heard some mixed opinions. I contacted Barnes yesterday and they stated if I am hunting over 5000 feet up I will be ok but that less than that I really need a 1:10 twist. I live in ND so most of my shooting is not above 5000' haha.

Am I wasting my time with these? I know I have read where other guys say they shot great for them but others say not to even try as they won't stabilize. I am pretty new to the technical aspects of shooting. In years past it was just buying 180 gr partitions and not lookin back... which may be what I fall back on.

Wapiti1

WKR
You really will have to shoot and see. When you are on the bubble, your rifle might work, or it might not.

I have seen combos work that weren't supposed to, and vice versa.

Jeremy

OXN939

WKR
So thinking I did all of my research I went out and ordered couple boxes of 190 gr LRX for my Tikka 300 Win mag... now I have heard some mixed opinions. I contacted Barnes yesterday and they stated if I am hunting over 5000 feet up I will be ok but that less than that I really need a 1:10 twist. I live in ND so most of my shooting is not above 5000' haha.

Am I wasting my time with these? I know I have read where other guys say they shot great for them but others say not to even try as they won't stabilize. I am pretty new to the technical aspects of shooting. In years past it was just buying 180 gr partitions and not lookin back... which may be what I fall back on.

Truly, the only way to figure this out is to go try it in your individual rifle. There are a ton of other factors that influence how well a rifle "likes" ammo, so send a few groups and if they're good to go then I'd shoot em. LRXs are great projectiles.

CAhunter

Lil-Rokslider
Just go with the 175’s which you know will stabilize and call it good. Why deal with the hassle?

OP
Badland