3 pin slider set up.

grfox92

WKR
Life long eastern bowhunter here. I spent 20 years shooting whitetails out of treestand and almost always had a single pin slider for that type of hunting.

Now I live in Wyoming and hunt elk, mule deer and antelope every year. That has led me to a MBG Asscent 3 pin.

So I have some questions for the experienced western guys. How would you set your 3 pins? 20,30,40? 25,35,45? Something like 25, 45, 55?

I think most shots will be with in 20-45 yards based on the few bowhunters I've talked to from out west. So how I stagger my pins seems like it would be personal preference. Unless there is an advantage to having a fixed 25 yard pin and then 2 pins for longer distance, but that setup seems like something advantageous to a set up with no ability to slide or adjust on the fly.

I decided on 25, 35, 45, but figured I would ask here before making my final decision.

Thanks,

Gary

Sent from my SM-G990U using Tapatalk

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
What did you set your one pin at? If you try and start at another yardage there's a high chance you'll forget at go time.

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk

Last edited:
OP
grfox92

grfox92

WKR
What did you set your one pin at? If you try and start at another yardage there's a high chance you'll forget at go time.

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk
It's been a few years since I had that set up so not too much of a concern, but usually 25 yards. I am leaning heavily towards 25, 35, 45.

I've been down the same path you're wondering right now. I tried several sights myself before settling on a spot Hogg fast Eddie double pin. It's a single pin that has two fiber optics on it and two different indicators for what yardage. I walk around with it set on the top fiber being 20 yards and the bottom being 40. It's pretty effective to gap shoot for 30 with practice. Then I have the luxury of adjusting if I have time the time and desire to shoot further.

Attachments

• IMG_3002.jpeg