6.5 Grendel Build: Reviews/Opinions

I have a Bushmaster XM15 5.56 that sits in the safe. I got it out to clean it the other day and it dawned on me I could replace the upper to 6.5 Grendel and make it a sweet deer rifle.

I reload so I can get going pretty quick on building loads. I looked at the 6mm ARC and the lack of components has me gravitating to the Grendel.

Questions: Have you folks that went down the Grendel route found it to be a good, light recoil, accurate enough deer cartridge that one can spot hits?

What is the barrel life of the 6.5 Grendel? Guilt free range trips throughout the year without worry of burning up the throat?

Factory ammo availability?

Thank You

The 6.5 Grendel is for sure light recoil; my 9 y/o boy shoots it without issue. It can be very accurate, IMO. Certainly accurate enough for shorter range big game hunting. You're going to get more variation introduced by field setups (off tripod, prone off a pack, etc) than the inherent accuracy of the cartridge and rifle.

Barrel life can be assumed to be very good because of the lower powder to projectile weight ratio. It's an efficient cartridge. And it's not super fast.

You can get factory ammo easily enough, but you reload, so do that. Lots of folks are shooting the Hornady SST's or the ELD-M's.

OP
General RE LEE
The 6.5 Grendel is for sure light recoil; my 9 y/o boy shoots it without issue. It can be very accurate, IMO. Certainly accurate enough for shorter range big game hunting. You're going to get more variation introduced by field setups (off tripod, prone off a pack, etc) than the inherent accuracy of the cartridge and rifle.

Barrel life can be assumed to be very good because of the lower powder to projectile weight ratio. It's an efficient cartridge. And it's not super fast.

You can get factory ammo easily enough, but you reload, so do that. Lots of folks are shooting the Hornady SST's or the ELD-M's.