6.5 grendel or 7mm-08

Looking for non bias opinions from the masses. I'm live in kodiak ak trying to build a lightweight, lowish recoil bolt action rifle. It's going to be a mid range gun (+/-350 yard max), with a vast majority of the shots much less. I have a 300wm for large game, this rifles main purpose is for deer, goat and maybe elk (unless I want to bring 300wm). I'm hung up between a 6.5 grendel and 7mm-08. I currently own a 6.5g ar15 that I like for blacktail's. I'm not a caliber expert and would like to hear from others experience.

These will get you started! Good luck on your caliber search!

Nicaburns

Lil-Rokslider
I am huge fan of 6.5 G but in that circumstance would choose 7-08. The Grendel really shines as an incredible performer in the AR platform but no real reason to choose it for a bolt gun. The ammo is not cheaper than 7-08, there is not a significant difference in action weight (unless looking at the howa super lite and then the nod goes to 7-08), and the recoil on both is super manageable.
when those are the variables, and especially if elk might be involved, then I would pick the stronger performance of 7-08 every time.

DJL2

Lil-Rokslider
Those two are such odd ball choices to me. I am straight up not a 6.5 G fan… I’ve owned one, sold it, never again. I would consider a 6 ARC (superior in every way to me), or a 22 ARC (if you like new hotness). I realize you are alr3ady bought in... that’s the logistics tail wagging the performance dog.

7mm-08 is a great cartridge. It has the ass to push 160 call bullets (160 TMK, 162 ELD-M) with enough authority to make 6.5 CM fans harumph in displeasure… except you won’t find anyone that loads those from the factory and standard short action COAL is an issue,