7mm-08 vs 7mm RM reduced loads and recoil for kids.

RSC12

FNG
Hello,

I'm brand new to reloading so haven't played around yet. I'm also fairly new to shooting so feel free to school me on this subject.

I have 2 young daughters who I'm hoping to get into hunting/shooting as they get older. Currently they love shooting a .22 and have shot a .243 off a bench so we're not there yet, just preplanning.

I personally shoot a Tikka 7mm Rem Mag and was thinking of getting them into a Tikka 7mm-08 compact as they age. But I'm curious if I was able to purchase a Tikka compact stock and put it on my 7mm Rem Mag and then shoot lighter projectiles with reduced velocity if this would be comparable to a 7mm-08 in recoil.

Ie: would a 140g bullet at around 2700fps out of a 7mm rem mag or a 7mm-08 be the same recoil. Am I wrong in thinking its just physics or is their more to it?

Thanks for any and all advice.

TaperPin

WKR
The physics is almost the same - but the powder weight has to be added to the bullet, so at the same velocity the 7 mag will recoil slightly more.

One summer I shot a very nice 7 mag with reduced loads and the large amounts of pistol powder really ate up the throat. The barrel was noticeably less accurate after that summer, and that was the last reduced load in a rifle for me.

Now I’m back to plinking and practicing with a lighter caliber.

TaperPin

WKR
The physics is almost the same - but the powder weight has to be added to the bullet, so at the same velocity the 7 mag will recoil slightly more.

One summer I shot a very nice 7 mag with reduced loads and the large amounts of pistol powder really ate up the throat. The barrel was noticeably less accurate after that summer, and that was the last reduced load in a rifle for me. Starting loads with normal powder wouldn’t do that, just stay away from he very low velocity reduced loads and pistol powder.

Now I’m back to plinking and practicing with a lighter caliber.

Rob5589

WKR