Are Trap Bar Deadlifts the way to go?

*zap*

WKR
I am no expert but if someone is new to deadlifts it may be a good idea to first do glute bridge, rdl's and good mornings. Rdl's with chest up shoulders back as exaggerated as possible and keep bar in contact with the legs. Good mornings with chest up shoulder back and hip hinge enough that the bar travels in a straight vertical path thru the rom. Straight arm pushdowns on a cable machine is also a good accessory exercise for dl's.
If your caved in forward up top doing rdl's its too much weight and it may suck but accept that it will take time to build up those muscles by using less weight. Doing the rdl movement with a 25-45# plate in each hand while keeping the hands in contact with the sides of your legs or just off of them may help.
If the bar is traveling forward as you do the good mornings you need to develop a better hip hinge and strength so it may take some time with the correct amount of weight. It may not be a good idea to start dl's until you have developed a proper hip hinge and appropriate strength in the muscles groups used in the movement by focusing first on these other exercise's.
I think that if your doing dl's with poor form and poor posture you just accentuating the poor posture and looking for trouble. It is much easier to do trap bar dl's and keep your posture correct but that may not be as good as actually strengthening your body to keep that upright posture before starting bar dl's.