Arizona spring bear

Dkahanek1

FNG
Heading to Arizona beginning of April to hunt spring bear. Its my first time hunting black bear but not my first time hunting western big game. I was just curious if anyone had any helpful pointers they would care to share. Ive been doing tons of escouting and have several plans and backups to all those incase units are closed when i get there or close while i get there. Thanks for any advice.

OP
Dkahanek1

Dkahanek1

FNG
Im headed that way on the 3rd. Hoping to start in northern part of unit 27

ZRob97

Lil-Rokslider
I'll be out giving it my second try, seems to be very weather dependent and if coming from out of state I'd recommend calling azdfg for info and monitoring weather close to the hunt. I tried 3C two years ago and it was still snow packed pretty good, GOhunt shows only one bear was taken in that unit that spring season for what that's worth. Spent 4 days out and saw no sign and only one other truck.

General tips given to me is to stay out of the snow for foraging bears and glass canyon sides early and late in the day. I'd recommend units with decent elevation differences down and out of the snow (rim country).

OP
Dkahanek1

Dkahanek1

FNG
I'll be out giving it my second try, seems to be very weather dependent and if coming from out of state I'd recommend calling azdfg for info and monitoring weather close to the hunt. I tried 3C two years ago and it was still snow packed pretty good, GOhunt shows only one bear was taken in that unit that spring season for what that's worth. Spent 4 days out and saw no sign and only one other truck.

General tips given to me is to stay out of the snow for foraging bears and glass canyon sides early and late in the day. I'd recommend units with decent elevation differences down and out of the snow (rim country).