Best dies for 300 win mag?

thinhorn_AK

"DADDY"
Sorry if this is a stupid question. I’ve been loading for several years but I’ve always used basic rcbs dies. They work fine but they are a pain in the ass to adjust for overall length.

I play around with 2-3 different loads in my 300 win mag and I’m wondering if there is a better option out there. I see some of the more expensive does have like a dial on top of the bullet seating part. Do these make it as easy as just turning the dial to change the bullet seating depth?

If so, who makes a good one? Redding? Forester?

Thanks!

rootacres

WKR
I have gone to using a Forster micro meter seater die. It's nice for messing with seating depth. I liked the RCBS full length sizing dies. For my 7 SAUM I ended up needing a custom resizing die from Whidden. They seem to have some pretty nice stuff too. I only have experience with the one die though.

Johnc427

Lil-Rokslider
Redding competition seater has a micrometer on top that works good, especially during load development when your trying lots of different bullets, seating depths, etc. they are my favorite out of all the ones I’ve tried. I also like the bushing resizing die

I'm running the Redding Comp dies, not sure if I'm smart enough to use them! lol. But don't have many rounds made yet. Have the neck tension bushings on the way, haven't used them yet.

A382DWDZQ

WKR
Erik Cortina had a video that he showed using a caliper to measure the top of the seating plug to the top of the die to record the seating depth so you can come back to it and also so you can adjust in a repeatable fashion. I’ve been using that and it seems to work well.

Duckboy23

FNG
I'm really liking my Hornady precision dies. I have them both in .300wm and 6.5prc. The knurled adjustment is easy to operate and I haven't seen it slip or vary in seating depth.

Gila

WKR