Best Mapping Service in 2023?

R_burg

WKR
Hey guys - I've been using Gaia for about 7 years now. My 5 year subscription is about to be up, so I need to look into what to do going forward. Back when I made this decision, it was pretty much just Gaia or OnX, and it seemed like more people around here liked Gaia. I do hunt/use mapping in multiple states, so I want the entire US.

These days there are tons of options: Gaia, OnX, BaseMaps, GoHunt - and a host of others. Where do things stand these days? Are any leaps and bounds better? Any features one has another doesn't that I'd really be missing out on?

I will say it annoys me that OnX broke off into 3 services. I use Gaia for off-roading too, and I will need a separate subscription for that in OnX. That's dumb, and starts to be fairly expensive vs the competition (IMO).

PS: I did search, I didn't see a thread on this since 2021 or so. If there is a big thread comparing them I apologize, please point me to it.

BBob

WKR
Most I know are still on OnX. I have both Gaia and OnX. Gaia for drilling down into layers for more detailed info and OnX for quick and dirty and it’s what friends send pins to me on. I’ve used GoHunt but don’t really go back to it much. 3D still seems a bit glitchy. I do use the online GoHunt for some info though, that and mostly Google Earth.

Last edited:

wapitibob

WKR
GE Pro is the best for desktop, there are only two I'd look at for the phone, OnX and Gaia.

If you leave your phone in service mode and move in/out of service while hunting, Gaia will be the better choice. OnX can hang up when service is lost.
Gaia "may" also a better choice if you have a massive amount of waypoints/tracks and use a Samsung phone. I have seen OnX issues when those conditions are present although it was a year ago.

OP
R

R_burg

WKR
GE Pro is the best for desktop, there are only two I'd look at for the phone, OnX and Gaia.