Bow tuning - rest versus sight

Okay newbie here, I have a question about tuning. I've read all about paper tuning and walk back tuning. Done both. Also of course did some tuning with sights. My question is if you're shooting is off left or right at a distance, say 20 or 30 yards, why do you tune with the rest and not the sight? Isn't the goal to essentially align the path of the arrow from string to rest in parallel and in line with the sight and so as a result couldn't that be achieved by either moving the rest or moving the sight left/right?

Geewhiz

WKR
The way I understand it, and this could be way off, but you "tune" a (compound) bow by moving the rest so that the string pushes the nock of the arrow in a direct line through the rest. As opposed to the rest being either right or left of where the string is pushing the nock. This allows you to get perfect arrow flight. ( think paper tuning)

Once the rest is in line with the string (right to left) and the nock point(up and down), then you have perfect arrow flight. At that point you would move your sight to "sight in" your pins.

I would also like correction to my understanding of this if need be.

The goal of tuning is to get the "power stroke" of the bow (i.e., the path traveled by the nocking point during the shot) aligned with the arrow, which will produce optimal arrow flight and help broadheads and field points achieve the same point of impact. Horizontal power stroke adjustments are be made by adjusting centershot (moving rest left/right), shimming cams, and adjusting yoke twists. Vertical power stroke adjustments are made by adjusting rest elevation, nocking point location, and cam timing.

The goal of sight adjustment is to get arrows to hit "behind the pin."

Tune first then adjust your sight.