Bowtech Revolt X80 splintered limb

Mogollon Hunter

FNG
Classified Approved
Got my first 80lb bow this year in the form of a revolt x80. Really was loving it until yesterday when one of the limbs decided to fail at full draw. Not super catastrophic or anything but I'm now questioning whether or not I want to keep this bow. Looking for experiences with 80lb bowtechs as well as with other brands in the 80lb+ category.20230722_144548.jpg
As a side note, my buddy's matthews v3x got some splintering in 2 of its limbs earlier this week and we've both been leaving or bows in our trucks during the week. This has us thinking that the Arizona heat is the culprit. 100°+ weather is even worse inside a vehicle.
I'm sure some of you will say there's no need to shoot a bow above 70lbs and that's true but I want to go fast. Arrow weight was 465grns so well above 5grns per lb.

I've been using an 80# Bowtech for about 10 years and no problems until last week when it got left in the car for a few hours and it delaminated like yours. I think the heat is the issue. Won't shoot anything less than 80# personally. The extra speed gives me a huge amount of forgiveness when estimating yardage in hunting situations.

OP
M

Mogollon Hunter

FNG
Classified Approved
I've been using an 80# Bowtech for about 10 years and no problems until last week when it got left in the car for a few hours and it delaminated like yours. I think the heat is the issue. Won't shoot anything less than 80# personally. The extra speed gives me a huge amount of forgiveness when estimating yardage in hunting situations.
Thanks for your reply, it's exactly what I was hoping to hear. The extra power sure is nice, the sight tape for that bow went out to 155 before getting arrow clearance issues.

OR Archer

WKR