Brown bear

Brown229

FNG
Wanted to get people's opinion on archery, brown bear hunting in Alaska. I've done a fair bit of internet search. Have been to a couple conventions looking at different outfitters. Obviously expensive hunt. Hard to know if you are making the right decision. Anyone have input on good outfitters for archery brown bear hunt.

No experience with archery hunting brown bears and have only done one brown bear hunt (last year), so I’m not an expert. My outfitter had successfully guided archery hunts before and we talked about bow hunting them in some of our conversations. It seems to me that he felt like the fall hunt was a better option with the bow because the bears were typically working along the salmon rivers and distracted due to their hunting for fish…typically set up a better archery opportunity.
I did a spring hunt and had a great time. Although we were not trying to get within archery range it seems like it would have been quite challenging to get within bow range on our hunt. The bears were in pretty thick cover and moving quickly. Also we had nice weather but that made the dead grass and plants quite noisy to sneak through. The guide probably would have approached things a little differently with a bowhunter so it’s worth asking him. I hunted with Lyle at Alaska Skookum Guides and would recommend calling him to discuss a hunt. We were on the peninsula in his federal concession.
Good luck in your search, anyone who hunts those big bears with a bow gets my respect!

Ed

If you want a very good chance at killing one, book a hunt with Jonah Stewart. Most traditionally run brown bear hunts are likely under 25% success rate on archery bears. If money is of little concern, no big deal. If you’d like to take a brown bear home, Jonah will give you the best opportunity to do that.

Scottf270

WKR