CA Late Season Bear Hunt

N9Line

FNG
I'm still very green when it comes to hunting, and it shows.

I'm completely self-taught (with the help of podcasts, youtube and y'all) and have had 0 help with anything really. I'm not from a family of hunters. My father raised me on fishing and camping in the Eastern Sierra's.
After the Marine Corps and starting a family of my own, I decided I wanted to try out hunting and being able to provide a cleaner/healthier lifestyle and incorporate self-procured proteins into my family's diet.

I know this is in the bear thread, but I'm trying to give a rundown on my experience.
I have strictly been in the D5 area.

Last year was my "official" first year of deer/bear hunting. The reason it's in quotations is because I took a few years trying to learn and scout out areas before taking the full dive. I picked a target area, did tons of scouting, hunted the first 3 weeks of season. I found a ton of deer sign and saw roughly 10-15 does/fawns a day. I saw 0 bears because I think I was in too much of a high traffic area with people/road hunters. I spotted a lonely spike on my last day and decided to call it quits after that since I had work the next day. On my way out, stumbled upon a forky and managed to harvest my first deer. I wanted to (and still do) learn, so for my first deer, I was going to be the one to completely butcher it. After staying up almost all night, i had the whole deer packaged and in the freezer.

Fast forward to this year.