Cohutta Wilderness, GA

Cng

Lil-Rokslider
Eastern hunter here. Getting interested in backpack hunting, and a buddy and I are planning a hunt in the Cohutta Wilderness of Georgia this fall as kind of a Western hunt trainer. Everything I’m reading online says it’s really rugged.

I’ve got a lot of backpacking experience, and we’ve both bear hunted the Blue Ridge WMA and the Chattahoochee National Forest. I’ve also run around in the Smokies and NC mountains quite a bit.

Any advice or suggestions on Cohutta? Is it really that much more rugged than the rest of the Southern Appalachian Mountains? How does the terrain compare to, say, a Colorado elk hunt (altitude excluded, of course)?

Thanks for any advice you’re willing to offer.

The TVD around winding stair gap etc (blue ridge wma) is at least as rough as cohutta but more roads. You might look at the CNF outside of the wma’s for additional season flexibility. I grew up between cohutta and blue ridge WMAs in the edge of the Rich mountain wilderness. Feel free to PM I haven’t been in the cohutta in years but I hit rich mountain and the TVD every year. I find the steep thick parts of north Georgia to be about like north Idaho About as steep and thick as anything. Anywhere. You can climb for miles- but you’ll be breathing better the whole way

Firehole Hunter

Lil-Rokslider
I plan on doing a fishing trip there this summer for training for the fall elk hunt in Colorado. Did once 25 to 30 years ago. Lots of water crossings. Wouldn't think that hunting for Whitetail would be all that good up there. But it should be very challenging from an exercise standpoint. It is the NGa mts. ya-know.

Thunder head

Lil-Rokslider
I agree with Juan. It steep up and down and the laurel thickets can be hell. But if your used to backpacking in the smokies you will be fine. Packing a Buck, pig or bear out would be good practice too.

Will you see a lot of deer? No
Is there a chance you will kill big mature buck? Yes