Dates for 2020 Co Archery Elk

Muzzy48

FNG
Hi all! New to the site and western hunting in general. All the information is greatly appreciated.

I’ve been doing some planning for a few months and learning whatever I can from wherever I can obtain information(podcast, gohunt, elk101, youtube, hunting articles, etc).

I’m not asking for anyone’s honey holes, or best units, etc. What I am asking for is some honest recommendations on time frames to archery hunt Elk in CO in September 2020. I’ve read Corey Jacobsen’s articles and some others on when they feel is a good time to hunt elk but nothing in particular for CO that uses hunting pressure as a guide.

I basically will have 10 days to hunt after traveling from PA. I gotta be back by the 26th for my anniversary or it may be the last hunting trip I take. I’m torn on when to go with Labor day being the 1st weekend and a few days later Muzzleloader begins and ends the 20th. Being new, finding elk will be a successful hunt but if we could have some close encounters(bulls or cows) and hear a bugle or two it would make the trip that much better.

How much does the Labor Day weekend activity affect hunting the following week? What impact does ML season have on hunting? Does it really matter for a newbie?

I’m just trying to stack the odds in our favor and looking for some guidance. Thanks in advance.

Bronc

Lil-Rokslider
Labor Day- It’s no different than any other weekend in the mountains (extremely busy).
ML season- Definitely more hunters in the woods. I don’t let it influence my hunt.
If you try to plan around all of the perceived negative times (ML season, holidays, full moon, not peak rut, etc), you’ll never be in the woods. I’d just pick the dates that work best for you and your hunting partners. Have fun!

bwlacy

WKR
I prefer later in the month. The later the better, better odds of hearing them talk during the day.

Of course I'm still a newbie and haven't killed one with a bow yet. Been really close.

Dvidos