Daypack/tree stand setup

KY_coop

Lil-Rokslider
I am thinking of ordering some climbing sticks and a hang on tree stand to hunt with this year. Have never done it before but I am an apprentice lineman by trade so figure it shouldn't be to bad. I have the kuiu venture 1800 on order for my new hunting bag. What is the best way to attach/ haul a stand to your day pack along with sticks and a weapon. Pictures would be great if anyone has them. Thanks

Sent from my SM-T720 using Tapatalk

OP
K

KY_coop

Lil-Rokslider
Put the stand in the load shelf and strap the sticks to the pack body. Carry weapon.
I believe the pack I bought is internal frame and does not have a load shelf

Sent from my SM-T720 using Tapatalk

OP
K

KY_coop

Lil-Rokslider
I figured it wasnt but I would think people still do it. I never have to walk more than 4 or 5 hundred yards to get to my spot. Figured I could get away with it for such a short time

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

*zap*

WKR
The combined weight of a stand and sticks with a pack between them and your back is very unwieldy. For such a short distance I would just carry the stand and strap the sticks to the pack.

Strap it to the outside along with the sticks. For that distance you will be fine. I don’t have a pic, but I strap my sticks (4 wolf bundled together with bungee cord) to the back center of the pack vertically. Horizontal is more of a pain in the ass and cathes on brush and trees. Place padding between the sticks and the stand. Strap the stand on over the sticks and crank it down. I use a couple of extra straps with fasted buckles to make it tight. Stand first then sticks works too but hits me in the back of the head sometimes. Just make sure you pad between them to reduce noise.

I also put a set of molle 2 straps on the bottom of my wolf climber so I can haul it without a pack. Not ideal but it works.

N2TRKYS

WKR