Deer Hunting in Michigan

OP
R

Rock4

FNG
if you give some specifics, you might get more help. Bow or gun, public land or private?
Bow or Gun, but public land only. I am young and willing to drive or hike as needed. I am new to Michigan so just looking for some better information. I am living in the southeast corner near Washtenaw County.

feanor

WKR
I just talked to a buddy near Holland who said a lot of the white tails have bug or mite infestation. He doesn’t hunt but he heard that from others. Is that a thing up there?

Trott2478

FNG
Live very close to you, if hunting public, get out and scout now. Look for large concentrations of old sign, not new sign. Look for thick and nasty areas, areas that need creative access(boat, bike etc) look for ag or oaks for food. Setup near private boundaries at the back of properties where others may not go. Always consider access, and know you will only get 1-2 hints at each location and then move on. If you want to see more deer and unpressured deer go to state land up north

Fordguy

WKR
Waterloo State Park -Jackson County. I used to ride my horses on the trails there, and I would see some monsters each year in September and October. For scouting- there are trails on hills that overlook the swamps, find them and glass in the evenings. I've heard that Waterloo gets a lot of pressure during bow season, but i haven't been there in a few years now and things can change from year to year.
Also, Im not sure how far you are from Blissfield, Monroe, or surrounding areas, but I've seen some HUGE bucks come from those areas. I don't know about public land though.

Tank9

FNG
A lot of the public land I used to hunt downstate received a ton of pressure but there are often areas that are overlooked close to some of the parking areas. Everyone lately wants to go super deep but I have seen bucks set up bedding areas close to roads and access points so that they can observe people coming in and slip out without being seen.

SirChooCH