Derailed/Dry Fired my bow tonight. I'm nauseated.

I bought a beautiful Prime Alloy 6 weeks ago. We've been inseparable since. I've shot 50-150 arrows a day since the day I got it and love it so much.

This evening while shooting, I failed to nock my arrow fully. As I drew back and settled in to fire, the arrow dropped off the string and slid forward in the rest. I was already applying pressure to fire and as I went to let down I inadvertently bumped the release and dry fired the bow. The cams are derailed and I can't tell what, if any other damage has been done.

Can anyone tell me that this has happened before and not ruined the bow? I've been training and prepping so hard for this hunt. I don't have a backup bow and I'm praying that I won't need to replace much as I don't have the money. I'm sick to my stomach.

charvey9

WKR
I'm no expert, but you could be OK. I would think that the riser/limbs would be alright, but check for cracks or stress marks. Derailing transfers a lot side torque onto the cams, which is what causes the string to derail and can do damage. Look for stress marks on the cams where the string came off, if the cam warped you should see marks or might see some discoloration of the metal where it was bent. If the string didn't snap, its still probably a good idea to get a new one of those also. If you have a good bow-tech, its always best to have them look at it.