Down bag in tent

Gobspur

FNG
I've read all the down vs synthetic debates on the forum here, but still undecided on what bag to get for September CO elk this fall.

If I'm using a good double wall tent like the NEMO dagger, should I really have any concerns with a down bag getting wet from condensation and such? I'll be hunting last 2 weeks of September. Backpacking in 3-5 miles. Would really like to save a couple of pounds with a down bag over synthetic. Thanks.

RyanC

WKR
I've been using a Down bag for the last 5-6 years without any issues. Unless you are completely careless and leave it out in the rain or dunk it in a river, you will be fine. Purchase a good waterproof compression sack like this one eVent Compression Dry Sack | Sea to Summit and you will be fine.

Ryan

ColoradoHunterHiker

Lil-Rokslider
I use down as well. If the tent has vents, open them up and you'll be fine. If the bag gets damp, just spread it out and it'll dry. It's dry in Colorado.

Here's the bag I use: Backcountry Hunting Sleep System Part 2 - REI Igneo 19* Down Sleeping Bag Review - YouTube

That said, if you're looking at moving toward a bivy/tarp system, the down bag can become an issue with a lower end bivy. But, I've backpacked (& hunted) for more than 2 decades and a down bag has served me well inside a tent - even when condensation was a small issue.

strand

Lil-Rokslider
I agree with everyone above, the down bag will be just fine. I use the same eVent compression sack that RyanC linked to above for my marmot helium 15 and an overstuffed HG burrow 40. It has served me well...they are some tough little compression sacks.

xziang

WKR
I don't have as much experience as the others but I would still use a down bag. I used a WM the last two seasons and when I'm not in camp or sleeping I did stuff it into a stuff sack just to be on the safe side. (incase something happens when I'm away and it gets rained on)

KMT

WKR